skip navigation
Canterbury of new zealand

Hall of Fame

Hall Of Fame Members

This highest honor is bestowed upon individuals who have accomplished exceptional results and made outstanding contributions to the excellence and winning tradition of the California State University Long Beach Rugby Program.


  • Dr. Dale"Doc"Toohey 
  • Charlie Cruzat
  • Robert Kaplan
  • Tom Knudson
  • Jeff Martin 
  • Carl Moler 
  • Jack Olson 
  • Kyle Quinn  
  • Kevin"Cubby"Robinson
  • Chris"Chewie"Rohrbach
  • Mark Stackhouse
  • Geoff Stein 
  • Dean Toohey 
  • Dr. Emyr Williams  

2016 Hall of Fame Inductees

Dr. Dale P.”Doc” Toohey

Founder 1974

Head Coach  1974-2003

Head Coach So Cal Select Team


Head Coach Pacific Coast Select Team


Head Coach All American Team



Mark Stackhouse

Player 1983-1987

Head Coach So Cal Select Team

1994, 1999-2002

Forwards Coach So Cal Select Team


Long Beach State Forwards Coach



Carl Moler

Player 1974, 1976-1980

US National Team Selection 1977


Tom Knudson

Player 1974-1978


Charlie Cruzat

Player 1974-1976


Jack Olson

Player 1974-1976


Geoff Stein

Player  1980-81, 1983-1985



2016 inductees - Stackhouse, Olson, Toohey, Moler, Cruzat, Knudsen

Long Beach State Rugby

Hall Of Fame


2018 inductees -Kyle Quinn, Bob Kaplan, Dr Emyr Williams, Doc Toohey,Dean Toohey,Jeff Martin,Chris Rohrbach,Kevin Robinson

Chris "Chewie" Rohrbach

Long Beach State Rugby


Southern California Griffins 1993, 1994

Pacific Coast Team 1993, 1994, 1995©

Collegiate All American 1993, 1994, 1995©

Woodley Award Winner ( Rugby Heisman Trophy Award)U.S. Collegiate Player of the Year 1995


Kevin "Cubby" Robinson

Long Beach State Rugby


Southern California Griffins 1987,1988,1989,1990,1991

Pacific Coast Team 1988,1989,1990,1991

Collegiate All American 1991


Kyle Quinn

Long Beach State Rugby


Collegiate All American 1992

US National Team 1994,1995,1997,1998

Long Beach State Head Coach 2009-2013


Robert Kaplan

Long Beach State Rugby

Player - 1983-1988

Coach – Long Beach State Rugby   1988-2003, 2009 - Present

Coach -  Southern California Griffins 1999 - 2002

Coach -  Collegiate All American       1998 - 2001


Jeff Martin

Long Beach State Rugby


So Cal Rep. 1991-1994

Pacific Coast Rep 1992-1994

Collegiate Al American 1993,1994


Dr. Emyr Williams

Long Beach State Rugby


Long Beach State Assistant Coach 1996-2001

Long Beach State Head Coach 2002-2009


Dean Toohey

Long Beach State Rugby


Southern California Griffins 1987,1988,1989,1990,1991

Pacific Coast Team 1988,1989,1990,1991

Collegiate All American 1991

Long Beach State Rugby

20 League Championships

27 Tournament Championships

14 All-American Selections

3 U.S. Eagles

4 Final Four  Appearances

 1 National Championship Appearance

  1 Woodley Award Winner

20 Overseas Tours

Long Beach State has had over four decades of winning Rugby tradition. For Long Beach State Rugby to be so consistently successful, there were exceptional athletes that made it possible. Coaches and players have performed at the highest levels of collegiate rugby in the U.S.  We have had players selected to represent the United States as Eagles, coaches and players have preformed at the All American level, and countless players have been and are still being selected for the Pacific Coast and Southern California representative sides. Started in 2016, to recognize the players that have made Long Beach State Rugby the great club it is, we will be inducting former greats into the 49er Rugby Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame selections will be made every other year. Players are eligible for selection 10yrs after their graduation from the club. Congratulations to those that have been selected to receive Long Beach State Rugby's highest honor.